DIY Skin-Loving Deodorant

 

Ya’ll know I love a good DIY, and I’m kinda a crunchy granola mamma, too. Early this year I decided that I wanted to try making my own deodorant. The aluminum and other ingredients in commercial antiperspirants are controversial and since my grandmother died recently from advanced Alzheimers, let’s just say if I could find an acceptable stink-stopping replacement that is natural and sans chemicals and heavy metals, I’m all over it.DIY Deoderant

So early this year I tried a recipe I found online. And it was ok. Occasionally I’d have to reapply during the day, which wasn’t too big a deal.

But you know me….I have to tweak….I’m hardwired to mess with something and try to make it better than it was before, so the next time I made it, I added a little bit of Vitamin E oil…no bueno. It made the deodorant not hold up very well in the heat, and the heat from my hands (during application) would make it a slimy mess…so I knew more tweaking was needed.

TEH-bentoniteclayThen I heard about (or rather was reintroduced, actually) to bentonite clay. A friend had given me some YEARS ago to help with a skin issue one of my kids was having. Bentonite clay is DA BOMB! It can be used in all kinds of skin products and even toothpaste!

Commence with the tweaking! So I made up a batch of deodorant with bentonite clay and…..deodorant NIRVANA! This recipe creates a VELVETY SMOOTH, slightly citrus smelling concoction that not only keeps my pits stink-free, but makes my skin feel amazing! Additionally, the discoloration under my arms was gone after using this deodorant for a few days….there’s some detoxifying going on there!

Oh, and it is less expensive than buying commercial deodorant, which is an added bonus!

A couple of tips to remember:

*Bentonite clay is a detoxifying product which is AWESOME, but also means that you want to avoid storing it in metal, using metal bowls or spoons, as it lessens the effectiveness of the clay. I did use metal bands and lids on top of my jars because I was out of these awesome plastic lids, but since it doesn’t come in contact with the deodorant, it’s not an issue. I bought my Redmond Clay at my local health food store, because it was on sale, but it can also be purchase through Amazon. 

*Shea butter doesn’t like high heat. Melt your oils on LOW heat to avoid the grainy texture that is created by using too high a temperature when melting.

*Beeswax comes in bars or in pastilles (little bit pieces). The pastilles are more expensive, but may save you a knuckle or two as grating the bars is hard work.

*You can use any one of a number of essential oils, or combinations of essential oils. The trick is to use oils that have properties that enhance the objective (kill bacteria-which causes pit stink, condition skin, smell lovely) and cause no harm (sometimes citrus oils and others can cause photo-sensitivity, so if your pits spend any time in the sun, you may need to exercise caution).

*Dedicated equipment….I actually went to my local thrift store and purchased some things like a sauce pan, glass bowl, cheese grater (for grating beeswax), etc that are dedicated to DIY projects here at home. This saves the sometimes horrendous cleanup of beeswax on your nice pots and pans, and bowls….yes, I do speak from experience.

*You CAN actually recycle your old deodorant containers if you don’t like using your fingers. I did this a few times, but dislike trying to clean out the old containers and found that I don’t mind using my fingers to apply at all, especially with the velvety texture, and the absence of residue after washing.

*The deodorant has a slightly gray appearance from the clay, however, I have not had a problem with my clothing being stained…certainly less than with the commercial deodorant. You can always use a stain spray on your whites/lights if you’re concerned.

Now let us commence with the recipe!

TEH-diydeodRhead

 

 

 

Printable Recipe Card
Makes 2 4-ounce mason jars

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup coconut oil
  • 3 Tablespoons beeswax, grated, or pastilles
  • 2 Tablespoons shea butter
  • 1/3 cup arrowroot powder
  • 1 1/2 Tablespoons baking soda
  • 1 1/2 Tablespoons bentonite clay
  • Essential oils

Directions:

  1. Melt coconut oil and beeswax in a saucepan over LOW heat, stirring frequently until beeswax is completely melted.
  2. Remove from heat and add shea butter and stir until melted.
  3. In a small glass or plastic bowl, mix arrowroot, baking soda, and bentonite clay. Add essential oils and mix to combine with a plastic or wooden spoon.
  4. Add oil mixture and mix quickly, until thoroughly combined.
  5. Pour into jars. Tap jars against counter top to release any air bubbles. Let cool, covered with a paper towel, until completely cooled. Seal with a lid. Let cure about 24 hours before using.
  6. Apply a small amount with clean fingers to underarm area, once a day as needed.

ESSENTIAL OIL Combinations:

  • 15 drops Tea Tree Oil & 7 drops Lemongrass
  • 10 drops Lavendar Oil, 5 drops Tea Tree Oil, & 5 drops Peppermint Oil
  • 10 drops Peppermint Oil, 10 drops Tangerine Oil (use care with citris oils as they can cause photo-sensitivity)
  • 5 drops Tea Tree Oil, 5 drops Lavendar Oil, 5 drops Rosemary Oil, & 5 drops Peppermint Oil

 

Making your own deodorant really takes almost no time (10 minutes, maybe?) and creates a great, effective, and natural product that is perfect for all you crunchy families out there. You can even come up with oil combinations that will make your man happy.

Making deodorant is one more way I’ve found to make peace and preparedness a part of EVERY DAY LIFE.

Have you ever made your own deodorant? Do you have trouble with or concerns about commercial deodorants, that would make trying this DIY Deodorant a great idea? I’d love to hear from you, so leave a comment!

One thought on “DIY Skin-Loving Deodorant

  1. I love this deodorant so much! Thank you for sharing the recipe. I have been searching for the right recipe for a while now, I am so glad I found yours!

    Like

Leave a Reply

