Preparedness: Plant A Seed

TEH-seeds

Can you imagine a day when you couldn’t go to the grocery store and pick up some canned fruits and veggies, or swing by the produce section and get whatever you fancy? Seems a little far-fetched, right? But not really. I can see it happening.

I’ve been reading this fun book Forgotten Skills of Self Sufficiency Used by the Mormon Pioneers and it’s follow up, MORE Forgotten Skills of Self Sufficiency Used by the Mormon Pioneers. These books both have so many great ideas and reminders of the importance of maintaining skills of self-sufficiency, for ourselves, but especially for our children!

One of those skills is planting a garden. Another is learning how to harvest seeds, which is nearly impossible with any plants you buy in the garden department. They’re designed to commit suicide. Buying and planting heirloom, non-hybrid, non-GMO seeds is so important, and learning to harvest the seeds for the next years crop, a renewable food source, at some point will be critical to our well-being.

Think you can only do this if you’ve got your homestead already?….I’m dreaming of my minimum 5 acres, but who knows if/when that will happen. A former leader of my church once said, “We encourage you to grow all the food that you feasibly can on your own property. Berry bushes, grapevines, fruit trees-plant them if your climate is right for their growth. Grow vegetables and eat them from your own yard. Even those residing in apartments … can generally grow a little food in pots and planters. Study the best methods of providing your own foods. Make your garden … neat and attractive as well as productive. If there are children in your home, involve them in the process with assigned responsibilities.” Spencer W. Kimball

So my goal has been to figure out a way to grow as much as I can on my little .14 acre plot, most of which is in the front yard and dominated by a driveway. I can grow a lot and offset the costs of feeding a family, AND feel downright giddy at the high quality nutrition I’m providing. The advantages far outweigh any negatives. I grow healthier, yummier, fresher food than I can get at the store, my children learn to work and appreciate the food cycle, and take pride in the work they do to grow their own food. Once they stop grumbling, they actually have a lot of fun. I’m able to preserve the surplus for the winter months (last year I turned our extra zucchini into jars of Pineapple Zucchini!My husband still doesn’t know that it’s not crushed pineapple.) This is a WIN/WIN.

RESOURCES: Here are a few of my favorite seed resources:

THRIVE LIFE
SEED RENAISSANCE
BAKER CREEK SEED CO
MYPATRIOTSUPPLY.COM

And a few of my favorite gardening books:
Backyard Winter Gardening by Caleb Warnock
Incredible Edibles by Joy Bossi & Karen Bastow
Successful Home Gardening by Gordon Wells
Baker Creek Heirloom Seed Catalog (2015)

So start today and plant a seed, or 80. Grow some food and be amazed. Have YOU planted a garden before? What is your favorite tip or trick?

photo(1)

Well, gotta run….I just got my seed shipment from Seed Renaissance (I got 5 tomato varieties, 7 flower varieties, a handful of culinary and medicinal herbs, and he even threw in some bonus carrot and leek seeds!) I must go….I have seeds to plant!

Leave a Reply

