Recipe: Veggie, Chicken, or Beef Bouillon

TEH_bouillona

Wait….you can make your OWN? I know…Mind BLOWN!

I am so excited about this one….I worked with it and played with it and I’m in love with it….ssshhhhh.

One of the things I love about Thrive is that they have NO MSG in their foods. LOVE LOVE LOVE this. Their bouillon does have autolyzed yeast extract in it. Now, these are both substances that contain large amounts of glutamate, but they’re not the same thing. MSG is a synthetically derived and highly concentrated flavor enhancer. Autolyzed yeast and hydrolyzed protein are completely natural ingredients that contain large amounts of glutamate. So, not the same (for more info see this article). However, people can still be sensitive to the smaller amounts of glutamine in the natural ingredients and I have a couple of those in my house.

So it gives me no small amount of pleasure to say that I can make something that’s just as amazing, but 100% natural and identifiable in its ingredients list. And it’s a pretty nice feeling to feel like I have control over what food my family eats. Oh, and did I mention I had all but one ingredient in my HomeStore? So bring on the soups, the sauces, the sick people….I don’t need no stinkin’ MSG laden bouillon any more! Wow, that was liberating! Here you go….oh, and make sure you set aside a good…I don’t know… FIVE MINUTES to get this thing done.

TEH-recipeTitlePrintable Recipe Card

Ingredients:

Directions:

  1. Throw everything into a blender and process until it is a fine powder.
  2. Add 1 t. of mix to 1 cup water, or to taste.

Couldn’t be easier. This has great flavor, great blend-ability….good stuff.

Give it a try. You can play with the seasonings if you want to customize them to your family’s tastes. This worked for me.
Have YOU ever made your own bouillon? I’d love to know how it goes, so leave me a comment! Should I have said please?….

P.S. We skipped the “What Am I Forgetting?” Series post yesterday so I could bring you the news about Thrive’s amazing March Madness Case Sale, but we’ll resume the series next Monday. Thanks for your understanding! Remember to stock up on your Thrive goodies before March 25th!

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Veggie, Chicken, or Beef Bouillon

  1. You should read the source article that the article you based your blog on references. The Whole Foods article conveniently skipped the part that references autolyzed yeast and hydrolyzed protein.
    From the main article :
    “Since the 1970s, MSG has sidled back onto American supermarket shelves, under assumed names: hydrolyzed proteins, yeast extracts, protein concentrates and other additives that are not labeled as MSG but, according to nutritionists and the United States Department of Agriculture, are essentially the same thing: synthetically produced glutamates.

    The whey protein concentrate and liquid aminos that many Americans buy at health food stores are also, essentially, pure glutamate, Dr. Chaudhari said.

    According to U.S.D.A. guidelines, “labeling is required when MSG is added as a direct ingredient.” But other glutamates — the hydrolyzed proteins, the autolyzed yeasts and the protein concentrates, which the U.S.D.A. acknowledges are related to MSG — must be identified under their own names.”

    If the USDA regards them as the same thing, then that should set off your alarm bells.

    By the way – the carrageenan in the products should make you cringe too.

    Why not just make your own broth, freeze it and have a real food product?
    You can add all those spices to any dish to enhance the flavor without all those additives.

    Like

    1. Thanks for the additional information, Megan. I appreciate you taking the time to comment.

      If carrageenan is something you avoid, the only product you’d want to skip is the Seasoned Chicken Strips. Everything else is carrageenan free.

      For me, this is all about baby steps. It seems like every direction we turn these days, there’s something lurking that has been “approved” and deemed safe, but that isn’t. But really, it’s everywhere, and in everything. I believe if I can just move forward one thing at a time, I’ll be doing what I can, as I can, and I’ll receive blessings for it. I do make and can my own broth, but sometimes I run out, or need something else, or my husband is cooking and he is a die-hard bouillon fan (Knorr, if you must know), so it’s no small thing to have sometime a little better to use, instead. It’s all about baby steps, so for today I tackle MSG, autolyzed yeast extract, and hydrolyzed protein….tomorrow, carrageenan.

      Thanks again for your comments!

      Like

Leave a Reply

