DIY: Instant Oatmeal Mix

We’ve already established that I’m all about the easy, right?

Well, since there are several Thrive fruits that are on a hot sale in the month of March, and Thrive fruits are a major component in my Instant Oatmeal Mix, I thought it the perfect time to post this recipe for you.

It’s easy, it’s nutritious, it’s fast, it’s economical,…it’s easy. And one of the best parts is that the kids can get it for themselves with the exception of the little XY, and so I can be doing other things like five heads of hair, and signing all kinds of homework papers, and supervising piano practice, and they can be feeding their faces. It works out good all around.

The other best part is that I (me, you, Mrs. Magoo) have total…TOTAL control over the ingredients. And that, my friends, is a good thing. One of the greatest benefits of having a Home Store is that I have a plethora of ingredients on hand to make up an abundance of nutritious, delicious, fast, easy and good for you food…as in REAL food.

TEH-oatmix2a

Instant Oatmeal Mix
by TheEssentialHomemaker

Ingredients:

Directions:

  1. Put 2 1/2 cups of oats in a blender along with 1 cup of the freeze dried fruit. Blend into a powder, or pulse until desired texture.
  2. Add rest of ingredients and mix well.
  3. Store in an airtight jar (I like these 1/2 Gallon Mason Jars…I bought mine at my local grocery store for about $9.99)
  4. To serve: scoop 1 part (usually 1/3 to 1/2 cup of mix) into a bowl and mix with 2 parts water. Microwave for about one minute. OR cook on the stove until bubbly and thickened.

For a Maple Brown Sugar Cinnamon Mix, replace the vanilla powder with 1 T. maple flavoring, use Thrive Brown Sugar instead of the Honey Crystals, and add 1 1/2 t. ground cinnamon and 1/2 t. ground nutmeg.

TEH-oatmix

Some of the flavor combos that I’ve done recently are: Blueberry Peach, Blueberry Strawberry, and just plain Peach. You can tailor your fruit combinations to what you like. I wonder what a Mango, Pineapple, Coconut combo would taste like?!?

Honestly, though, it doesn’t get much easier, folks!

So make some today and post your favorite flavor combos here, cause I’d love to give them a try!

5 thoughts on “DIY: Instant Oatmeal Mix

Leave a Reply

