DIY Food: Homemade Coffee Creamer

TEH-creaner

We aren’t coffee drinkers, although I’m not opposed to taking a great big whiff when I’m walking down the aisle in the supermarket, and maybe just standing there for a little bit….inconspicuously trying to store enough of the delicious aroma in my olfactory system to last me until my next trip………………

Oh yeah. Anyway, I DO however use plenty of coffee creamer. I use it in Homemade Instant Oatmeal Mix, I use it in Homemade Hot Cocoa Mix, I use it occasionally in Summer Porridge in place of the milk/milk powder and honey. And sometimes….sometimes if I’m being honest, I heat up a cup of water, stir in some homemade creamer and a few white chocolate chips and stir till melted……..well, before I quit the sugar habit cold turkey, that is.

If you’ve ever taken a look at the back of a container of coffee creamer….well, it’s enough to make even the most lion-hearted among us tuck tail and RUN. Are you ready?
Corn syrup solids, partially hydrogenated soybean oil, sodium caseinate, dipotassium phosphate, mono-and diglicerides, silicon dioxide, artificial color, sodium stearoyl lactylate, soy lecithin, and artificial flavor.

My spell check says most of those aren’t even real words. Even my spell check knows fake food when it sees it.

So I came up with a substitute, that honestly, I’m pretty darn thrilled with. It’s got creaminess, it’s got flavor….it’s the good stuff. Oh, and how about THREE ingredients….and ones that you can pronounce without little to no difficulty. Non-GMO deliciousness right here…

Homemade Coffee Creamer
The Essential Homemaker

Ingredients:

 

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl, mix milk and sugar well.
  2. Drizzle in coconut oil and whisk until incorporated.
  3. Store in an airtight container (an empty Thrive Pantry Can works great, and their cans aren’t lined with BPA so even more awesome).
  4. Add according to taste to just about whatever you feel like.

 

TEH-creamer2

So don’t settle for fake food. Take five minutes out of your day and make up some Homemade Coffee Creamer.

**TIP**
If you don’t have powdered sugar on hand, you can whip up some granulated sugar in the blender for a few minutes until it’s nice and fluffy. It’s not so good for, say using in a glaze, but it works just great in Homemade Creamer. Give it a try!
Well???? Did you make it yet? What do you think??

Leave me a comment telling me if you’ve tried making homemade coffee creamer and what you thought.
Have a beautiful day!

One thought on “DIY Food: Homemade Coffee Creamer

Leave a Reply

