DIY Food: Taco Salad Bowls

TEH_BTSB1

What to do when you get a craving for taco salad and there’s not a Mexican restaurant in sight?
I’ll tell ya what you do….you get creative!

The craving hit and it hit hard! What’s a girl to do? I remember one of my sisters talking about this neat little gadget that she’d gotten to make her own taco shell bowls.

Think, think, think…..EUREKA! So, all I need is something that can go in the oven that I can shape some tortillas over the top of….and pint mason jars (wide mouth for more stability) seemed perfect! I inverted them on a cookie sheet.

TEH_BTSB4

I then sprayed my tortillas on both sides with my Misto sprayer filled with olive oil, and sprinkled with some course salt.

 

TEH_BTSB3

Then I laid them over the top of the mason jars and put them in the oven at 350ºF for 10-14 minutes (depending on how thick the tortillas are) until golden brown. The tortillas will crisp up significantly as they cool. Be careful not to burn them!

TEH_BTSB2

Then cool them on a cooling rack for a bit.
Next, stuff ’em with anything you like.

TEH_BTSB1

Today we did re-fried beans, pork carnitas, guacamole, lettuce, tomato, avocado, cilantro, green onion, cheese….pretty much the sky is the limit on this one!

What’s YOUR favorite Taco Salad topping? Give this little tip a try and let me know how it goes!

2 thoughts on “DIY Food: Taco Salad Bowls

Leave a Reply

