Fun: Puppy Adoption

I know I’ve been a little absent for a few days….I have a good excuse, I promise!

My hubby and I have been talking for a while about getting a dog. I’ve really felt strongly that it was a good thing for our family to do.
We finally saw a dog that we wanted to go look at. This was a rescue puppy. Some knucklehead dumped a whole litter of these beautiful pups into a shopping cart and pushed it into Walmart and abandoned it. Do people really DO THAT???? Apparently so.

Anyway, we arrived at the adoption spot and anxiously awaited the arrival of the rescue shelter that was bringing “our” pup. And when they got there, and set up the many poor dogs they had available for adoption, and pointed us to the dog we were looking for……we immediately were sunk because of our soft hearts. Our pup, McCloud and his brother, Mighty were inseparable…and we couldn’t imagine separating them….so we took….them….both.

TEH_M&M1

For about twenty-four hours I was a basket case. “What have we done?” This is such a bad idea!” “There’s no way this is going to work!” were some of the things that went through my head. But after lots of prayer, this calm settled, and while it’s super busy, I am feeling much better about it.

So I’ve been teaching two boys their names, and teaching them to “get busy” and to wait for their food, in addition to taking care of my other kiddos. And my poor little XY felt so displaced for the first day…until we realized what was happening, and made him the center of attention before taking care of the pups.

All in all, things are going well, and we all might survive….
I saw this great quote today and decided that it has to be my motto.

Commitment means staying loyal to what you said you were going to do long after the mood you said it in has left you.

It’s given me a lot of strength.

Have YOU ever done something that scared you to death and everyone said you were crazy for?? I’d love to hear about it!

One thought on “Fun: Puppy Adoption

Leave a Reply

