DIY Food: Harvest Delight Granola

TEH_HDgranola9

 

Granola….the food of the Gods, ya?

I love it….would I eat it in a bowl, would I eat it with a…..troll,
I would eat it here or there, I would eat it everywhere.

TEH_HDgranola8

 

One of my favorites is with yogurt or cottage cheese and some homemade apple butter….sigh…..oh. yeah.

Granola is actually super easy to make, AND the coolest part is that you have complete control over your ingredients!
Today’s recipe is actually a fat free recipe, (other than the naturally occurring fat in the nuts). Which makes it one of my favs! AND it actually is one of the crunchier recipes I have, when cooked long enough.

I have trouble keeping this one in the house….my kids love it….I have to stand over them with a measuring cup to make sure they’re just taking a serving size (we’re big into that at our house. It’s part of my quest to teach them to be mindful of their choices.)

Well, would ya like to know how to make it??

TEH_HDgranola7First you start with some yummy ingredients: oats, puffed rice/wheat cereal, pumpkin pie spice, sugar, pumpkin puree, applesauce, maple syrup, vanilla, nuts (opt), and dried fruit.

If you don’t have any maple syrup on hand, you can substitute 1/2 molasses and 1/2 honey, which is what I did on this particular day.

 

TEH_HDgranola6

Dump your oats and cereals into a big bowl and give it a stir…

 

TEH_HDgranola5

Combine your sugar, spices and wet ingredients in a bowl and mix well. (Sorry for the neon blue bowl…don’t know how he got in here).

 

TEH_HDgranola4

Dump the wet into the dry…..do the hokey pokey and you mix it all up….that’s what it’s all about. At least I amuse myself.

 

TEH_HDgranola3
Divide and spread your mixture evenly on two cookie trays (with sides), and toss ’em in the oven (for baby and me)….

oh brother……

bake, swap, bake, stir, bake, cool….you know it! (And detailed instructions are included below, for those who really can’t figure out just what is wrong with me today!)

Can I just say one more time…..

YUM!

TEH_HDgranola10

*Now, in the interest of full disclosure, I have to admit to throwing the tail ends of some coconut, pistachios, and dried cherries in this here batch. Just keepin’ it real people, keepin’ it real. But in all seriousness, that’s the beauty of this baby….she will clean out your cupboards!

Harvest Delight Granola

Recipe by The Essential Homemaker
Prep time: 15 minutes
Cook time: up to 1 hour
Total time: 1 hr 15 min.

Yield: abt 24 servings

Ingredients

  • 3 1/2 cups old fashioned oats
  • 3 1/2 cups quick oats
  • 5 cups puffed rice, puffed wheat or combination of the two
  • 4 teaspoons  pumpkin pie spice mix
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 cup applesauce
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla or Pure Vanilla Powder
  • 3 cups chopped nuts (almonds, pecans, walnuts, or combination)
  • 2 cups dried fruit (raisins, cranberries, dates, or combination)

Cooking Directions

  1.  Preheat oven to 325º F.
  2.  Spray two cookie sheets with cooking spray or grease with butter.
  3.  In a large bowl, combine oats and cereal.
  4.  In a medium bowl, whisk spices, salt, sugar, applesauce, pumpkin, maple syrup and vanilla until smooth.
  5.  Add to dry ingredients and stir until oat mixture is evenly coated.
  6.  Divide between the two cookie sheets, and spread into an even layer.
  7.  Bake 15 minutes with one tray on top rack and one on the bottom rack.
  8.  Swap trays (move the top tray to bottom shelf and bottom tray to top).
  9.  Bake another 15 minutes
  10.  Stir/turn the granola, add the nuts, and cook 15-30 minutes more until crisp and golden.
  11.  Cool
  12.  Add dried fruit. Store in an airtight container and enjoy!

Remember to enter the Shelf Reliance giveaway!
It ends on Monday, February 11th at midnight!

What creative ways do YOU eat granola?

8 thoughts on “DIY Food: Harvest Delight Granola

  1. I hope you realize that reading your blog is not only making me hungry, but I want to go make something! Shhhh…. don’t tell my husband! He’ll eat it all!

    Like

    1. I for sure won’t tell your hubby. You’ll have to hide this one….when I am paying attention, I put it up high where nobody but me can see it. You could try putting it in a can with a Dried Carrots or Beets label…I bet that would help 🙂

      Like

  2. FINALLY got around to making some. It is SOOOOO GOOD! I ran out of pumpkin puree in the freezer (oops!) so I grabbed a sweet potato I had on hand, peeled, cubed and cooked it…then pureed it. Turned out so yummy. Thanks for the recipe Jenn.

    And even more amazing…it’s only ~155 calories per 1/2 cup. Not THAT is fantastic for granola.

    Like

Leave a Reply

