Recipe: Sweet Potato Bread with Toasted Coconut

I have the yummiest, can’t-stop-stuffing-my-face quick bread recipe for you today!
It is so good, I can’t wait to share!

IMG_2634

This is my

Sweet Potato Bread with Toasted Coconut

because is there anything that isn’t good that has sweet potatoes or coconut in it?

 

Now, I love making quick breads with fruits and veggies in them. I feel like even though they’re sweet, they still have good stuff in them, and I like feeding them to my family.

Without further ado, let’s jump in and I’ll tell you all about it!

IMG_2592

Measure your sweet potato puree into your measuring cup.
I made my own puree by cooking and peeling sweet potatoes and then blending them up with my handy dandy stick blender.

Now, you might say, that is awfully dark sweet potato puree!
And I’m going to have to be honest with you….

The day I took these photos to post for you, I was a little short of my sweet potato puree by about a 1/4 cup….so……I got into the fridge and found some pumpkin butter and apple butter remnants (oh so good!!) and used the remains of those to make my full measured amount of sweet potato. It was divine!

Why this works???

Pumpkin and Apple Butters are both reduced fruits (with some sweetener and spices added) and they have a deliciously intense flavor because they are reduced. They were perfectly delicious in this. But the sweet potato by itself is delish, too…..as is butternut squash or pumpkin puree.

Ok, now back to business…..

IMG_2597

Put your sweet potato puree (or squash, or combo…that’s how we roll) in a bowl with your sugars, vanilla,  and your applesauce, and combine well.

Now, can you use less sugar?? Definitely! Do it to taste.
Can you use all white, or all brown? Sure! I just like the depth of flavor of doing the two different sugars.

IMG_2599

Lightly beat your eggs in your liquid measuring cup (I’m all about not doing any more dishes than I absolutely have to), and add to your puree mixture.

IMG_2601

Now get another bowl for your dry ingredients.
A word or two here about sifting. I am…..well, I’ve lived a good amount of years, and I am just learning the finer points of some things, and sifting is one of them….trust me, it makes a big difference. Look at the gorgeous light and fluffy texture of the flour in the bottom bowl…..simply beautiful.

IMG_2604

Add your flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg to your sifter….or here I’m using a fine mesh sieve. Take note of the microplane….one of my absolute favorite kitchen tools. It changed my life…really!
And there is something incomperable about freshly grated spices….yum….

IMG_2605

Isn’t that simply gorgeous????

IMG_2607

Then gently shake your sieve or work your sifter until all your dry ingredients are in your bowl, and stir to combine.

IMG_2608

Add your dry ingredients to your puree mixture and mix just until combined. Do not over mix.

IMG_2614

Divide your batter between two loaf pans.
Now here’s where I got a little fancy.
I had some left over toasted coconut from the coconut cream pie I made at Thanksgiving, so I threw some on the top there, oh, and if you have any toasted almonds lying around that you need to use, you can throw them on top there as well.

If you’ve never toasted coconut, you can find out how here.

IMG_2629

Doesn’t that look to-die-for???
It tastes that good, too….mmmmm, I may just have to make some more…right now….

IMG_2635

So delightful! You know you wanna make some…..and I won’t tell anyone if you eat half the loaf before anyone gets home from school….not that I’d ever do that…..

Sweet Potato Bread with Toasted Coconut
TheEssentialHomemaker.com

Ingredients:

Mix well in large bowl.

In separate bowl, sift:

Instructions:

  1. Mix dry with wet ingredients just until blended. Do NOT over mix.
  2. Pour into 1 greased 9×5 loaf pan, or 2 smaller loaf pans.
  3. Top with toasted coconut.
  4. Bake at 350º for 40-60 minutes (depending on your pan size). Bread is done when a toothpick inserted into the center of the bread comes out clean.

Enjoy!!

Do YOU have a favorite quick bread recipe? Post in the comments, and tell us about it!

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Sweet Potato Bread with Toasted Coconut

    1. GO. MAKE. IT!
      So good….in fact, I may just go pull some sweet potato puree out of the freezer and make myself some right now.
      Let me know how you like it!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

